Visa Grew 17.1%, but Net Debt Nearly Doubled
Revenue growth accelerated and pre-tax margin rebounded sharply. Higher net debt and missing per-share data keep the valuation conclusion measured.

Price now
$367.21
At publication
$367.21
Fair value
$389.24
Upside
+6.0%
Fwd P/E
0.0x
EV/EBITDA
0.0x
FCF yield
0.0%
ROIC 0.0% · Horizon 12 months
Investment thesis
Why is this mispriced?
- 01
1. Revenue increased 17.1% year over year, well above the 11.3% growth recorded for FY2025, indicating stronger operating momentum in the latest supplied quarter.
- 02
2. Pre-tax margin expanded 7.8 percentage points year over year to 64.4%, reversing much of the margin pressure evident in FY2025.
- 03
3. The operating improvement is partly offset by net debt of $10.01 billion, up from $5.08 billion a year earlier and $4.83 billion in the preceding quarter.
- 04
4. A provisional $389.24 fair value offers only 6.0% upside from $367.21, leaving Visa fairly valued under SageNoodle's 15% valuation threshold.
Business
Overview
Visa Inc. (V) is classified in the supplied company information as a business-services company listed on the NYSE. The available Visa Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026 provides the financial basis for this update, but no earnings press release was supplied. The input does not provide sufficient segment, geographic, customer or transaction-volume detail to attribute the quarter's growth to individual business lines without importing outside information. Visa is treated here as a financial company. Gross margin, conventional industrial free cash flow, EBITDA-based valuation and the supplied mechanical ROIC calculation are therefore not decision-useful. The analysis instead emphasizes revenue, pre-tax income and margin, net income, book equity and balance-sheet capital. EPS and share-count information were not disclosed in the supplied quarterly table, which limits the precision of any per-share valuation.
For the financial history and all coverage, see VISA INC. (V) company research.
Source documents
What changed this quarter
The central change was a simultaneous acceleration in revenue and recovery in profitability. Revenue reached $11.23 billion in Q2 FY2026, up 17.1% from $9.59 billion in Q2 FY2025 and 3.0% from $10.90 billion in the preceding quarter. That year-over-year increase also exceeded the supplied FY2025 revenue growth rate of 11.3%, making the latest quarter stronger than the most recent full-year trend. These figures are drawn from the quarterly data associated with the Visa Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026.
The profitability improvement was more pronounced. The supplied operating-margin column represents pre-tax margin for this financial company, and that measure increased to 64.4% from 56.6% a year earlier. The 7.8-percentage-point expansion implies pre-tax income of approximately $7.23 billion, compared with approximately $5.43 billion in the year-ago quarter. On that basis, pre-tax income increased roughly 33.2%, almost twice the rate of revenue growth.
The result also improved sequentially. Pre-tax margin was 61.8% in Q1 FY2026, so the latest quarter added 2.6 percentage points while revenue rose 3.0%. That combination suggests positive operating leverage in the reported period rather than growth purchased through lower profitability. It also moves the quarterly margin above FY2025's 60.0% full-year pre-tax margin, which had declined from 65.7% in FY2024.
The counterweight was the balance sheet. Net debt increased to $10.01 billion from $5.08 billion in Q2 FY2025 and $4.83 billion in Q1 FY2026. The latest point values show $12.40 billion of cash, $22.42 billion of debt and $26.44 billion of equity. Net debt remains below book equity, but its sharp sequential increase deserves attention because the supplied information does not explain whether the change reflects capital returns, timing effects or another use of cash.
The table reports $3.01 billion of quarterly free cash flow versus $4.70 billion a year ago. That decline is noted in the report card, but conventional free cash flow is not treated as a primary measure for this financial company. The supplied $9.79 billion cash-from-operations point also appears to cover a different period than the quarterly free-cash-flow figure, so the two should not be combined. EPS was not disclosed in usable form, and gross margin is not meaningful for this business classification.
Why it matters for the thesis
The quarter strengthens the operating side of the case. A 17.1% increase in revenue accompanied by a 7.8-point expansion in pre-tax margin is a better outcome than revenue growth alone. It indicates that incremental revenue carried attractive economics during the period, with pre-tax income growing substantially faster than the top line.
That matters because FY2025 presented a less clean picture. Revenue increased 11.3% to $40.00 billion, but full-year pre-tax margin fell to 60.0% from 65.7% in FY2024. The latest quarter does not erase that annual decline, but it provides evidence that the pressure was not necessarily permanent. At 64.4%, the latest quarterly margin is again close to the stronger levels seen in prior annual periods.
The balance-sheet movement prevents a one-sided conclusion. Net debt nearly doubled year over year and more than doubled sequentially. Without the filing text or a press release excerpt explaining the drivers, it would be speculative to label the increase either benign or structural. The appropriate thesis test is whether future filings show net debt normalizing, remaining stable relative to equity, or continuing to rise despite strong profitability.
The quarter is therefore bullish at the operating level but not sufficient for an aggressive valuation change. There is no prior SageNoodle company record, so this article establishes rather than revises fair value. Confidence is also constrained by the absence of usable EPS, diluted shares outstanding, management guidance and detailed operating indicators in the supplied material. Those omissions do not invalidate the reported improvement, but they narrow what can be concluded from it.
What VISA INC. is worth after the print
The provisional base-case fair value is $389.24 per share, 6.0% above the supplied market price of $367.21. Under SageNoodle's rules, that is Fairly Valued because the upside is less than the 15% threshold required for an Undervalued verdict. This is not a conventional earnings-multiple target: usable EPS and share-count data were not supplied, and an EV/EBITDA framework is not appropriate for the financial-company classification.
The scenario method therefore uses the current price as an explicit anchor and applies valuation factors tied to the durability of revenue growth, pre-tax margin and balance-sheet outcomes. The bear case applies a 0.80 factor to $367.21, producing $293.77. It assumes growth falls back to the mid-single digits, pre-tax margin drops below 60.0%, and net debt remains elevated. The base case applies a 1.06 factor, producing $389.24, and assumes low-double-digit revenue growth, a 62.0%-65.0% pre-tax margin and no material further increase in net debt.
The bull case applies a 1.30 factor to the current price, producing $477.37. It requires mid-teens revenue growth to persist, pre-tax margin to remain above 65.0%, and net debt to fall toward prior-year levels. These factors are assumptions rather than reported multiples. They are shown explicitly because the supplied data do not support a more precise per-share earnings model.
The base case receives a 55% probability, compared with 25% for the bear case and 20% for the bull case. The latest result improves the probability of sustained operating leverage, but the small indicated upside means the stock already reflects much of that quality. A materially more favorable valuation would require either stronger per-share evidence or a lower market price.
What could prove this wrong
The first risk is that the margin rebound proves temporary. One quarter at 64.4% does not establish a new run rate, particularly after FY2025's full-year margin fell 5.7 percentage points. A return below 60.0% without a corresponding acceleration in revenue would undermine the base case and move the valuation toward the bear scenario.
The second risk is continued balance-sheet deterioration. Net debt rose by $5.18 billion sequentially and $4.93 billion year over year. If future periods show further increases without a clear connection to value-accretive capital deployment, the risk profile would rise and the price anchor used in this provisional valuation would warrant a larger discount.
The third risk is weaker demand. The base case assumes low-double-digit revenue growth, below the latest quarter's 17.1% but broadly consistent with continued expansion. Growth falling to the mid-single digits would reduce the case for maintaining a premium valuation, especially if costs did not adjust quickly enough to protect pre-tax margin.
Finally, the valuation itself could be wrong because the supplied data lack EPS, diluted share count, management guidance and detailed operating disclosures. Those missing inputs make the fair value less robust than a full earnings model. The next filing needs to confirm that revenue growth translates into durable per-share earnings while clarifying the reason for the increase in net debt.
Financial performance
The numbers
Revenue ($B)
Margins (%)
Free cash flow ($B)
ROIC vs net debt
Source: SEC EDGAR XBRL filings, latest restated values; quarterly cash flow derived from year-to-date figures; Q4 = fiscal year minus nine months. ROIC is NOPAT (21% tax) over debt plus equity.
| Period | Revenue | Gross % | Op % | FCF | EPS | ROIC % | Net debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q3 FY2023 | 8.12 | 0.00 | 61.8 | 5.80 | 0.00 | 77.2 | 4.97 |
| Q4 FY2023 | 8.61 | 0.00 | 64.5 | 6.93 | 0.00 | 85.7 | 4.18 |
| Q1 FY2024 | 8.63 | 0.00 | 69.0 | 3.61 | 0.00 | 90.9 | 7.11 |
| Q2 FY2024 | 8.78 | 0.00 | 61.0 | 4.54 | 0.00 | 82.1 | 7.61 |
| Q3 FY2024 | 8.90 | 0.00 | 66.7 | 5.13 | 0.00 | 91.1 | 7.66 |
| Q4 FY2024 | 9.62 | 0.00 | 66.0 | 6.66 | 0.00 | 96.3 | 8.86 |
| Q1 FY2025 | 9.51 | 0.00 | 65.6 | 5.40 | 0.00 | 118.1 | 4.31 |
| Q2 FY2025 | 9.59 | 0.00 | 56.6 | 4.70 | 0.00 | 102.1 | 5.08 |
| Q3 FY2025 | 10.2 | 0.00 | 60.7 | 6.73 | 0.00 | 99.6 | 2.50 |
| Q4 FY2025 | 10.7 | 0.00 | 57.3 | 6.24 | 0.00 | 99.1 | 2.44 |
| Q1 FY2026 | 10.9 | 0.00 | 61.8 | 6.78 | 0.00 | 108.7 | 4.83 |
| Q2 FY2026 | 11.2 | 0.00 | 64.4 | 3.01 | 0.00 | 102.0 | 10.0 |
From the calls
Management commentary
Valuation
Three scenarios
Dot marks the current price of $367.21.
Bear
25%$294
Current price of $367.21 multiplied by a 0.80 downside factor because usable EPS and share-count data were not supplied.
- Revenue growth
- Mid-single digits
- Pre-tax margin
- Below 60.0%
- Net debt
- Remains near or above $10.01B
- Valuation factor
- 0.80x current price
Growth normalizes sharply, the latest margin recovery reverses and elevated net debt leads to a lower valuation anchor.
Base
55%$389
Current price of $367.21 multiplied by a 1.06 factor reflecting sustained growth and margin recovery, with limited rerating.
- Revenue growth
- Low double digits
- Pre-tax margin
- 62.0%-65.0%
- Net debt
- No material increase from $10.01B
- Valuation factor
- 1.06x current price
Revenue remains healthy and pre-tax margin holds near the latest level, but the market already prices in much of the operating quality.
Bull
20%$477
Current price of $367.21 multiplied by a 1.30 upside factor as sustained mid-teens growth and balance-sheet improvement support rerating.
- Revenue growth
- Mid-teens
- Pre-tax margin
- Above 65.0%
- Net debt
- Declines toward prior-year levels
- Valuation factor
- 1.30x current price
The latest revenue growth proves durable, margin expands beyond 65.0% and the rise in net debt reverses.
Both sides
Bull vs bear
Bull case
- Revenue increased 17.1% year over year, accelerating from FY2025's 11.3% growth rate.
- Pre-tax margin expanded 7.8 percentage points year over year to 64.4%.
- Implied pre-tax income increased approximately 33.2%, demonstrating strong operating leverage.
- The latest quarterly margin moved back above FY2025's 60.0% full-year level.
Bear case
- Net debt rose to $10.01 billion from $5.08 billion a year earlier.
- FY2025 pre-tax margin was still 5.7 percentage points below FY2024, so one strong quarter may not establish a durable recovery.
- Usable EPS and diluted share-count data were not supplied, limiting per-share valuation precision.
- Only 6.0% upside to provisional fair value leaves little protection against weaker growth or margins.
What could break
Risk matrix
| Risk | Severity | Probability | Rationale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Margin recovery reverses | High | Medium | The 64.4% quarterly pre-tax margin is encouraging, but FY2025's full-year margin fell to 60.0% from 65.7%. |
| Net debt continues rising | Medium | Medium | Net debt increased by $5.18 billion sequentially to $10.01 billion, and the supplied material does not explain the use of capital. |
| Revenue growth slows materially | High | Medium | The valuation assumes low-double-digit growth; mid-single-digit growth would weaken operating leverage and valuation support. |
| Incomplete per-share data distorts valuation | Medium | High | EPS, diluted shares and management guidance were not supplied, requiring an explicitly assumption-based price-anchor method. |
Timeline
Catalysts
- Not disclosedNeutral
FY2026 annual filing and results
The next full-year disclosure should test whether the 64.4% pre-tax margin persists and explain the increase in net debt.
History
Thesis tracker
| Period | Fair value | Verdict | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 FY2026 | $389 | Fairly Valued | Initial coverage. Revenue grew 17.1% and pre-tax margin expanded to 64.4%, but higher net debt and missing per-share data limit upside to a provisional 6.0%. |
Developments
Related news
Continue your research
More on VISA INC.
Quarterly earnings
- VISA INC. Q2 FY2026 earnings analysis
11 Sept 2026
Independent checks
Company reference pages
Browse company filings and market quotes to check the latest information. These pages update over time and are separate from the documents cited in this report.
Citations