Alibaba’s Revenue Grew 2.7%. Its Pre-Tax Margin Collapsed
Revenue rose 2.7%, but pre-tax margin fell 9.2 points and EPS declined 17.9%. With no quarterly release or guidance supplied, the print supports caution rather than a fair-value reset.

Price now
$108.56
At publication
$108.55
Fair value
$110.00
Upside
+1.3%
Fwd P/E
19.7x
EV/EBITDA
0.0x
FCF yield
0.0%
ROIC 3.7% · Horizon 12 months
Investment thesis
Why is this mispriced?
- 01
1. Revenue remains resilient, increasing 2.7% in FY2026, but that growth produced materially less profit than a year earlier.
- 02
2. Pre-tax margin fell from 14.1% to 4.9%, making margin recovery—not revenue growth—the principal variable behind future value.
- 03
3. FY2026 EPS of $5.50 puts the current price at 19.7 times earnings, close to the 20 times multiple used in the base case and therefore not an obvious mispricing.
- 04
4. Cash of $131.53B and equity of $1,060.89B provide capital support, but the supplied information is insufficient to assess segment economics, capital requirements or the durability of returns.
Business
Overview
Alibaba Group Holding Ltd (BABA) is classified in the supplied company data as a services and business-services issuer. The materials provided for this update do not include a current earnings release, periodic report, segment breakdown, customer mix, geographic revenue split or description of industry structure. Accordingly, this analysis does not infer the contribution of commerce, cloud, artificial intelligence or other operations from outside information; it evaluates only the consolidated FY2026 financial data supplied. Those figures show $1,023.67B of FY2026 revenue, $103.59B of net income, $5.50 of EPS, $76.21B of operating cash flow, $131.53B of cash and $1,060.89B of equity. The dataset designates Alibaba as a financial company for analytical purposes, meaning gross margin, free cash flow, net debt and conventional ROIC are not considered meaningful. The relevant measures are therefore revenue, pre-tax income and margin, EPS, book value and capital. The snapshot retains the supplied 3.7% ROIC figure for completeness but does not use it in valuation; EV/EBITDA and free-cash-flow yield are shown as zero because meaningful values were not disclosed.
For the financial history and all coverage, see Alibaba Group Holding Ltd (BABA) company research.
What changed this quarter
The first change is a limitation in the evidence itself: no current quarterly earnings release, periodic report or usable current-quarter table was supplied. The only quarterly entries provided are Q1 FY2020 and Q1 FY2021, which are too old to characterize the latest result. This update therefore treats FY2026 as the reported period and avoids attributing annual changes to a specific quarter. That distinction matters because an annual result can conceal materially different trends across its four quarters.
On the available annual numbers, revenue increased to $1,023.67B from $996.35B in FY2025, growth of 2.7%. Revenue therefore cleared the only permitted reference—the prior year—but the improvement was modest relative to the deterioration below the top line. Pre-tax margin fell to 4.9% from 14.1%, a contraction of 9.2 percentage points. The supplied dataset labels the operating-margin column as pre-tax margin, so that is the profitability measure used throughout this article.
EPS declined to $5.50 from $6.70, a decrease of 17.9%. Net income was $103.59B, while the latest XBRL operating-income point was $50.15B. Without a filing explaining the relationship among operating income, pre-tax income and net income, it would be inappropriate to assign the decline to a particular expense, investment program or business segment. The defensible conclusion is narrower: revenue grew, but reported earnings per share and pre-tax profitability weakened materially.
The annual table also shows the free-cash-flow proxy falling to $76.21B from $163.51B. Under the financial-company designation supplied with the data, free cash flow is not an economically meaningful performance measure, so it does not drive the valuation. Operating cash flow of $76.21B, cash of $131.53B and equity of $1,060.89B are more useful indicators of capital, although no comparable prior-year operating-cash-flow figure was separately disclosed.
Why it matters for the thesis
The central tension is no longer whether Alibaba can produce nominal revenue growth. It did. The question is how much earnings that revenue can support. A 2.7% increase in revenue accompanied by a 9.2-point fall in pre-tax margin indicates materially weaker profit conversion. Unless that margin decline is temporary, modest top-line growth alone is unlikely to produce an attractive rate of EPS growth.
This changes the burden of proof. A constructive thesis would need evidence that FY2026 absorbed identifiable costs with future benefits, or that the lower margin represents a temporary stage rather than a new operating baseline. The supplied materials provide neither management guidance nor a segment bridge explaining the contraction. They also do not disclose whether pricing, mix, investment, competition or another factor caused the change. Recent supplied headlines refer to macroeconomic pressure, competition, artificial intelligence and quick commerce, but headlines are not substitutes for financial disclosure and are not used to quantify the thesis.
Capital offers some support but not a complete answer. Alibaba reported $131.53B of cash and $1,060.89B of equity. Those balances may provide flexibility, yet the supplied classification makes net debt and conventional ROIC unreliable analytical measures. The annual table’s ROIC calculation fell from 11.0% to 3.7%, but because the prompt explicitly says ROIC is not meaningful here, we treat that movement as a warning to investigate rather than as a valuation anchor.
The result is a mixed thesis with a negative earnings update. Revenue resilience is the strongest positive. The margin decline, lower EPS and weaker cash-flow proxy are the negatives. With no current guidance, no quarterly detail and no segment economics, there is not enough evidence to underwrite a rapid recovery or conclude that FY2026 profitability is permanently impaired. The appropriate response is a wider scenario range rather than false precision.
What Alibaba Group Holding Ltd is worth after the print
There is no prior SageNoodle valuation to carry forward, and the absent quarterly release does not justify presenting the annual data as a quarterly fair-value revision. We therefore establish, rather than update, a 12-month fair value. The method is deliberately simple: apply explicit price-to-earnings multiples to FY2026 EPS of $5.50. No undisclosed growth estimate, consensus forecast or segment valuation is embedded in the calculation.
The bear case applies 15 times EPS, producing $82.50 per share. This scenario assumes the 4.9% pre-tax margin is closer to a sustained level than a temporary trough and that the market requires a lower multiple because earnings visibility remains weak. The base case applies 20 times EPS, producing $110.00. It assumes neither a rapid margin recovery nor another severe deterioration; the multiple recognizes revenue stability while discounting the lack of supporting disclosure. The bull case applies 25 times EPS, producing $137.50, reflecting a future view that FY2026 margin pressure is temporary and that revenue growth ultimately translates into stronger earnings.
Probabilities of 25% for the bear case, 50% for the base case and 25% for the bull case produce a probability-weighted value of $110.00, the same as the base case because the outcomes are symmetrically weighted. At the current price of $108.55, the shares trade at 19.7 times FY2026 EPS and sit approximately 1.3% below fair value. That falls well inside SageNoodle’s 15% fair-value band, resulting in a Fairly Valued verdict.
The supplied market capitalization is $2,088.0B. EV/EBITDA is not disclosed, while free-cash-flow yield is not meaningful under the supplied classification. This limits cross-checking through enterprise-value or cash-flow approaches. The $110 conclusion should therefore be read as an earnings-based valuation contingent on the explicit multiples, not as a comprehensive sum-of-the-parts appraisal.
What could prove this wrong
The main downside risk is that the pre-tax margin decline reflects a durable change in economics. If revenue continues growing at a low-single-digit rate while pre-tax margin remains near 4.9% or falls further, even the 15-times bear multiple could prove too generous. The lack of segment disclosure in the supplied materials prevents identifying which activities are consuming incremental profit or whether those costs can be reduced.
A second risk is that EPS does not provide a stable basis for valuation. FY2026 net income of $103.59B exceeded the supplied operating-income point of $50.15B, but no reconciliation was provided. If below-operating-line items made a significant positive contribution, the $5.50 EPS figure may overstate recurring earning power. Conversely, if those items were ordinary and repeatable, the concern would be less severe. A filing with a complete income statement is needed to distinguish the two.
The thesis could also be wrong on the upside. If the margin contraction came from temporary investment and pre-tax margin begins moving back toward FY2025’s 14.1%, the 20-times base multiple may understate value. Revenue has already shown resilience, and stronger conversion of that revenue into earnings would move fair value toward the $137.50 bull case without requiring aggressive top-line assumptions.
The decisive evidence will be a current periodic filing or earnings release showing quarterly revenue, pre-tax income, EPS, capital movements and management’s explanation of the margin change. Until then, claims about segment growth, competitive intensity or investment returns remain unverified. The next update should focus less on whether revenue is still growing and more on whether each dollar of revenue again produces an acceptable amount of pre-tax profit.
Financial performance
The numbers
Revenue ($B)
Margins (%)
Free cash flow ($B)
ROIC vs net debt
Source: SEC EDGAR XBRL filings, latest restated values; quarterly cash flow derived from year-to-date figures; Q4 = fiscal year minus nine months. ROIC is NOPAT (21% tax) over debt plus equity.
| Period | Revenue | Gross % | Op % | FCF | EPS | ROIC % | Net debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q1 FY2020 | 233.9 | 0.00 | 19.1 | 81.9 | 4.45 | 0.00 | -248.3 |
| Q1 FY2021 | 308.8 | 0.00 | 15.7 | 104.4 | 3.48 | 17.8 | -301.5 |
From the calls
Management commentary
Valuation
Three scenarios
Dot marks the current price of $108.55.
Bear
25%$83
FY2026 EPS multiplied by an assumed 15x P/E
- EPS base
- $5.50 FY2026
- P/E multiple
- 15x
- Pre-tax margin
- 4.9% remains near the sustained level
- Disclosure
- No near-term improvement in earnings visibility
Low-single-digit revenue growth fails to offset persistently weak profit conversion, and the valuation multiple contracts to reflect uncertain recurring earnings.
Base
50%$110
FY2026 EPS multiplied by an assumed 20x P/E
- EPS base
- $5.50 FY2026
- P/E multiple
- 20x
- Revenue
- Stable after 2.7% FY2026 growth
- Margins
- No rapid recovery or further severe deterioration
Revenue remains resilient, but the absence of guidance and the sharp margin decline prevent assigning a premium multiple.
Bull
25%$138
FY2026 EPS multiplied by an assumed 25x P/E
- EPS base
- $5.50 FY2026
- P/E multiple
- 25x
- Margin pressure
- Temporary rather than structural
- Earnings conversion
- Improves as revenue growth continues
FY2026 proves to be a margin trough, allowing stable revenue to support a recovery in earnings quality and valuation.
Both sides
Bull vs bear
Bull case
- FY2026 revenue increased 2.7% to $1,023.67B despite weaker reported profitability.
- Cash of $131.53B and equity of $1,060.89B provide a substantial capital base.
- A recovery from the 4.9% pre-tax margin would create meaningful earnings upside without requiring rapid revenue growth.
- The current price is close to the base valuation rather than embedding the 25-times bull-case multiple.
Bear case
- Pre-tax margin contracted by 9.2 percentage points, from 14.1% to 4.9%.
- EPS declined 17.9% to $5.50 even as revenue increased.
- The free-cash-flow proxy fell from $163.51B to $76.21B, although the metric is not meaningful under the supplied classification.
- No current release, guidance, segment bridge or quarterly table was supplied to explain the deterioration.
- At 19.7 times FY2026 EPS, the shares already trade close to the 20-times base-case multiple.
What could break
Risk matrix
| Risk | Severity | Probability | Rationale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Margin compression becomes structural | High | High | Pre-tax margin fell from 14.1% to 4.9%. Persistently weak conversion would reduce the earnings supported by modest revenue growth. |
| Reported EPS overstates recurring earnings | High | Medium | Net income exceeded the supplied operating-income point, but no reconciliation or filing was provided to assess below-operating-line contributions. |
| Limited current disclosure obscures the drivers | High | High | The supplied evidence contains no current quarterly release, segment data, guidance or management explanation of the margin decline. |
| Valuation multiple contracts | Medium | Medium | The stock trades at 19.7 times FY2026 EPS. Continued earnings declines could move the market toward the 15-times bear-case multiple. |
Timeline
Catalysts
- Date not disclosedNeutral
Next periodic filing or earnings release
Current quarterly revenue, pre-tax income, EPS and a bridge explaining the 9.2-point annual margin contraction would determine whether FY2026 was a trough or a new baseline.
History
Thesis tracker
| Period | Fair value | Verdict | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | $110 | Fairly Valued | Initial coverage. Revenue grew 2.7%, but pre-tax margin fell to 4.9% and EPS declined to $5.50; no current quarterly release was supplied, so fair value is established from annual EPS scenarios. |
Developments
Related news
Continue your research
More on Alibaba Group Holding Ltd
Quarterly earnings
Independent checks
Company reference pages
Browse company filings and market quotes to check the latest information. These pages update over time and are separate from the documents cited in this report.