Earnings UpdateUndervaluedHigh riskStockLarge CapAutomotiveConsumerGrowthTurnaround

NIO Grew Revenue 13.5%. Cash Burn Still Worsened.

NIO delivered higher revenue and modest margin improvement, but EPS and free cash flow deteriorated. The shares look inexpensive only if operating leverage eventually reaches cash flow.

SageNoodle ResearchEditorial10 Sept 20267 min read

Price now

$3.58

At publication

$3.58

Fair value

$4.62

Upside

+29.1%

Fwd P/E

0.0x

EV/EBITDA

0.0x

FCF yield

-255.9%

ROIC -86.8% · Horizon 3-5 years

Investment thesis

Why is this mispriced?

  1. 01

    1. Revenue growth is beginning to produce operating leverage: Q1 FY2025 revenue rose 13.5%, gross margin expanded 1.1 percentage points and operating margin improved 2.3 points year over year.

  2. 02

    2. The improvement remains economically incomplete because the operating margin was still -36.5%, EPS deteriorated and quarterly free cash outflow widened to $10.93B.

  3. 03

    3. The $3.58 share price discounts a low sales multiple, but that apparent discount is meaningful only if NIO converts scale into sustained positive free cash flow.

  4. 04

    4. Balance-sheet liquidity provides some support, with FY2025 cash of $11.27B exceeding debt of $8.63B, but persistent cash consumption could erode that cushion.

  5. 05

    5. The thesis is high risk because negative returns on invested capital, severe cash burn and the absence of current management guidance make the timing and cost of a turnaround uncertain.

Business

Overview

NIO Inc. (NIO) manufactures motor vehicles and passenger-car bodies and is headquartered in Shanghai. The supplied materials identify its industry and public listing but do not disclose current segment revenue, geographic mix, vehicle deliveries, pricing, customer concentration or product-level profitability. Consequently, this update evaluates the company through the supplied consolidated financial results rather than making unsupported claims about individual models or markets. The available financial history shows a business with rising reported scale but persistent losses. FY2025 revenue was $87.49B, up 33.1% from FY2024, while gross margin increased to 13.6% and operating margin improved to -16.0%. The latest derived metrics nevertheless show a -255.9% trailing free-cash-flow yield, -86.8% return on invested capital and $20.8B of trailing free cash outflow. The supplied annual table reports a different FY2025 free-cash-flow figure, so the cash-flow datasets cannot be reconciled without the underlying filing and cash-flow statement.

For the financial history and all coverage, see NIO Inc. (NIO) company research.

What changed this quarter

The latest assessable quarter in the supplied financial table is Q1 FY2025, not a 2026 quarter. No current earnings press release or periodic report was provided. Recent headlines refer to later operating developments and Q2 earnings, but headlines cannot substitute for company-filed financial statements under the evidence standard used here. This report therefore treats Q1 FY2025 as the relevant print and does not infer more recent revenue, margins, cash flow or guidance.

Revenue increased to $31.04B from $27.35B in Q1 FY2024, a year-over-year gain of 13.5%. With no consensus estimate or company guidance supplied, the prior-year quarter is the required reference. On that basis, revenue beat the reference by $3.69B and indicates that NIO was still expanding its consolidated top line.

Margins moved in the right direction, but only modestly relative to the remaining loss base. Gross margin rose to 9.1% from 8.0%, an improvement of 1.1 percentage points. Operating margin improved to -36.5% from -38.8%, narrowing by 2.3 points. Higher revenue therefore produced some operating leverage, although NIO still recorded more than $0.36 of operating loss for each dollar of quarterly revenue.

The bottom line and cash-flow result were weaker. EPS fell to -$5.56 from -$5.07 in the prior-year quarter, missing the reference by $0.49 per share. Free cash outflow widened to $10.93B from $10.03B, a deterioration of $0.90B. The quarter consequently produced a split report card: revenue and margins improved, but shareholder earnings and cash conversion did not.

That divergence is the most important change. A credible manufacturing turnaround requires revenue growth to reduce both accounting losses and cash consumption. NIO demonstrated the first part through better gross and operating margins, but not the second. Without a supplied release, management guidance, delivery data or a cash-flow bridge, it is not possible to determine whether the increased outflow reflected working capital, capital expenditure or recurring operating requirements.

Why it matters for the thesis

The constructive interpretation is that scale is starting to help. Revenue grew 13.5%, while operating margin improved despite the company remaining deeply unprofitable. That relationship is necessary for the thesis: if fixed operating costs grow more slowly than revenue and gross profit, each additional dollar of sales should eventually reduce the operating loss.

The difficulty is that the observed pace of improvement remains insufficient. A -36.5% operating margin is not close to economic breakeven, and the 2.3-point year-over-year gain would need to be repeated many times before the business reached a neutral operating result. This is not a forecast of how long that process will take; it illustrates the size of the gap visible in the supplied quarter.

Cash flow makes the evidence less encouraging. Quarterly free cash outflow of $10.93B exceeded the prior-year outflow even as gross and operating margins improved. That suggests accounting operating leverage had not yet translated into lower financing needs. The supplied derived data also place trailing free cash flow at -$20.8B and the free-cash-flow yield at -255.9%, although the annual table contains an inconsistent FY2025 free-cash-flow figure. Until a filing resolves that discrepancy, cash generation should be treated as both weak and difficult to measure precisely.

The balance sheet provides a limited offset. FY2025 cash was $11.27B against debt of $8.63B, equivalent to $2.65B of net cash under the supplied calculation. Net cash reduces immediate leverage risk, but it does not eliminate funding risk when a single reported quarter consumed $10.93B of free cash flow. The mismatch between those figures also reinforces the need for a current filing before drawing conclusions about liquidity duration.

FY2025 offers evidence that improvement continued beyond the quarter: annual revenue rose 33.1%, gross margin reached 13.6% and operating margin improved to -16.0% from -33.3% in FY2024. Even so, FY2025 return on invested capital was -86.8%. The developing thesis is therefore not that NIO has completed a turnaround. It is that the market price may understate the value of further operating leverage, while the reported economics still make that outcome speculative.

What NIO Inc. is worth after the print

There is no prior SageNoodle valuation to carry forward, so this update establishes a provisional framework rather than claiming that the quarter moved an existing fair value. A price-to-earnings or EBITDA approach is not useful because the supplied figures show negative EPS and operating income, and EBITDA was not disclosed. We therefore use a price-to-sales method based solely on FY2025 revenue of $87.49B and 2.273B shares.

The base case applies a 0.12 times equity-value-to-sales multiple. The calculation is $87.49B multiplied by 0.12, divided by 2.273B shares, producing $4.62 per share. The multiple is an explicit valuation assumption rather than an externally sourced peer comparison. It reflects a business with substantial revenue but negative margins, negative ROIC and unresolved cash consumption.

At the current price of $3.58, the $4.62 base value implies 29.1% upside and meets the rule for an Undervalued verdict. That label needs context: the discount is compensation for high execution and funding risk, not evidence that the underlying business already earns an adequate return. NIO's negative earnings also mean P/E and EV/EBITDA are not meaningful; the zeroes in the snapshot denote unavailable meaningful multiples rather than actual valuation ratios.

The bear case applies 0.05 times FY2025 sales and produces $1.93 per share. It assumes revenue scale fails to deliver durable margin improvement and continued cash use raises dilution or financing concerns. The bull case applies 0.22 times sales and produces $8.47, assuming gross-margin progress continues, operating losses contract materially and cash burn moves toward breakeven.

The quarter does not justify more generous assumptions. Revenue and margin improvements support retaining meaningful upside in the base and bull cases, but weaker EPS and free cash flow prevent treating the operating leverage as established. A current press release, guidance range and detailed cash-flow statement could change the valuation; none was supplied here.

What could prove this wrong

The bullish interpretation would be wrong if revenue growth remains dependent on economics that do not improve gross profit. Gross margin increased to 9.1%, but that level leaves little room to absorb operating expenses. Renewed margin compression would undermine the central premise that additional scale can reduce losses.

Cash consumption is the most immediate falsification test. Free cash outflow widened by $0.90B year over year in the quarter, despite better revenue and operating margin. If subsequent filings show that this was recurring rather than timing-related, the current net-cash position could diminish and the probability of outside financing or shareholder dilution would rise.

The valuation is also sensitive to the assumed sales multiple. Sales have value only to the extent they can eventually generate distributable cash. If NIO continues producing deeply negative operating margins and ROIC, even the base-case 0.12 times sales multiple may be too high. Conversely, sustained positive free cash flow would make a sales-only framework too conservative and justify an earnings or cash-flow valuation.

Finally, the evidentiary gap itself is a risk. The supplied package contains no current quarterly filing, no earnings release and no management guidance, while its annual and derived free-cash-flow figures conflict. A later primary document could show materially different operating or liquidity conditions. Until those documents are available, the $4.62 fair value should be regarded as provisional and the risk rating remains High.

Financial performance

The numbers

Revenue ($B)

Margins (%)

Free cash flow ($B)

ROIC vs net debt

Source: SEC EDGAR XBRL filings, latest restated values; quarterly cash flow derived from year-to-date figures; Q4 = fiscal year minus nine months. ROIC is NOPAT (21% tax) over debt plus equity.

PeriodRevenueGross %Op %FCFEPSROIC %Net debt
Q1 FY20194.98-19.0-165.8-8.250.00-2898.0-0.30
Q1 FY20209.627.60-38.2-0.200.00-78.6-12.6
Q1 FY202126.219.5-7.800.340.00-18.9-11.8
Q1 FY202427.48.00-38.8-10.0-5.070.00-28.4
Q1 FY202531.09.10-36.5-10.9-5.56-452.72.00

From the calls

Management commentary

Valuation

Three scenarios

$2
Bear
$5
Base
$8
Bull

Dot marks the current price of $3.58.

Bear

30%

$2

FY2025 equity-value-to-sales multiple divided by supplied shares

Revenue base
$87.49B FY2025
Equity value-to-sales
0.05x
Shares
2.273B
Formula
$87.49B × 0.05 ÷ 2.273B = $1.93

Margin gains stall, cash consumption remains severe and financing or dilution risk prevents the market from assigning meaningful value to revenue scale.

Base

50%

$5

FY2025 equity-value-to-sales multiple divided by supplied shares

Revenue base
$87.49B FY2025
Equity value-to-sales
0.12x
Shares
2.273B
Formula
$87.49B × 0.12 ÷ 2.273B = $4.62

Revenue growth and gradual margin improvement continue, but profitability and free-cash-flow breakeven remain unproven, warranting a low sales multiple.

Bull

20%

$8

FY2025 equity-value-to-sales multiple divided by supplied shares

Revenue base
$87.49B FY2025
Equity value-to-sales
0.22x
Shares
2.273B
Formula
$87.49B × 0.22 ÷ 2.273B = $8.47

Gross-margin expansion persists, operating losses contract materially and cash flow approaches breakeven, allowing the market to capitalize NIO's revenue at a higher multiple.

Both sides

Bull vs bear

Bull case

  • Q1 FY2025 revenue increased 13.5% year over year to $31.04B.
  • Gross margin expanded 1.1 percentage points to 9.1%.
  • Operating margin improved 2.3 percentage points, indicating some operating leverage.
  • FY2025 revenue grew 33.1%, while the annual operating margin improved to -16.0%.
  • FY2025 cash exceeded debt by approximately $2.65B under the supplied net-debt calculation.

Bear case

  • Quarterly free cash outflow widened to $10.93B despite higher revenue.
  • EPS deteriorated to -$5.56 from -$5.07 in the prior-year quarter.
  • The Q1 operating margin remained deeply negative at -36.5%.
  • FY2025 ROIC was -86.8%, indicating substantial value destruction at the reported return level.
  • No current release, filing or guidance was supplied, and the provided cash-flow datasets conflict.

What could break

Risk matrix

RiskSeverityProbabilityRationale
Persistent cash burnHighHighQ1 FY2025 free cash outflow widened to $10.93B, while the supplied derived trailing figure was negative $20.8B.
Turnaround executionHighHighOperating margin improved but remained -36.5% in the quarter, leaving a large gap to breakeven.
Financing and dilutionHighMediumNet cash provides some protection, but recurring outflows at the reported quarterly level could require additional capital.
Gross-margin reversalHighMediumThe thesis depends on the 1.1-point gross-margin improvement continuing rather than reversing.
Incomplete and inconsistent disclosure packageMediumHighNo current primary release or filing was supplied, and the annual table's free-cash-flow figure conflicts with the derived trailing figure.

Timeline

Catalysts

  1. Not disclosedNeutral

    Next primary quarterly filing

    A current filing could confirm the latest revenue, margins, liquidity and the cause of the reported cash-flow divergence.

  2. Not disclosedBullish

    Sustained operating-margin improvement

    Further margin expansion accompanied by lower cash burn would validate the operating-leverage thesis.

  3. Not disclosedBearish

    Evidence of recurring cash outflow

    Confirmation that elevated cash consumption is structural would increase financing risk and pressure fair value.

History

Thesis tracker

PeriodFair valueVerdictNote
Q1 FY2025$5UndervaluedInitial provisional coverage. Revenue and margins improved year over year, but weaker EPS and deeper free cash outflow keep the thesis high risk; no current release or filing was supplied.

Developments

Related news

Continue your research

More on NIO Inc.

Quarterly earnings

Independent checks

Company reference pages

Browse company filings and market quotes to check the latest information. These pages update over time and are separate from the documents cited in this report.