Nebius Has No Verifiable Quarter, but a $56.5 Billion Price

No quarterly release or table was supplied, leaving the latest operating change unverified. A provisional book-value framework sits far below the market price.

SageNoodle ResearchEditorial10 Sept 20266 min read

Price now

$228.11

At publication

$228.11

Fair value

$18.55

Upside

-91.9%

Fwd P/E

691.2x

EV/EBITDA

0.0x

FCF yield

0.0%

ROIC 0.0% · Horizon Three to five years; provisional pending a primary quarterly filing

Investment thesis

Why is this mispriced?

  1. 01

    1. FY2025 revenue increased 488.9% to $529.8 million, but no supplied quarterly filing shows whether that expansion continued into FY2026.

  2. 02

    2. The company remains at an investment-heavy stage: FY2025 capital expenditure was $4.066 billion against $384.8 million of operating cash flow, although free cash flow is not treated as a meaningful analytical measure here.

  3. 03

    3. Reported pre-tax margin improved from negative 436.7% in FY2024 to negative 115.5% in FY2025, but the business remained far from operating self-sufficiency on the latest available annual figures.

  4. 04

    4. The $56.5 billion market capitalization requires substantial future value creation relative to $4.594 billion of reported equity, yet no current-quarter revenue, pre-tax income or guidance was supplied to validate that expectation.

  5. 05

    5. The balance sheet provides $3.678 billion of cash, but debt of $4.103 billion and a capital-intensive expansion model leave execution and financing risk elevated.

Business

Overview

Nebius Group N.V. (NBIS) is classified in computer programming and data-processing services, is headquartered in Schiphol and trades on Nasdaq. The supplied materials do not provide a current description of its operating segments, geographic revenue, customer concentration or revenue model, so those details cannot be stated reliably. The latest available XBRL points are annual FY2025 figures rather than a new quarterly table: revenue was $529.8 million, net income was $82.5 million and EPS was $0.33. No periodic report or earnings press release was supplied. That absence is central to this update because it prevents a grounded assessment of quarterly demand, pricing, utilization, margins, capital requirements or management guidance.

For the financial history and all coverage, see Nebius Group N.V. (NBIS) company research.

What changed this quarter

The short answer is that no quarterly change can be verified from the supplied documents. The quarterly financial table contains no observations, while both the latest periodic report and latest earnings press release are listed as unavailable. There is therefore no disclosed fiscal-quarter label, revenue figure, pre-tax result, EPS, cash-flow statement or management outlook to assess.

Under the required comparison rules, a reported metric would be tested against the midpoint of prior company guidance when available, or otherwise against the same quarter one year earlier. Neither reference exists in the supplied material. Revenue, EPS and pre-tax margin consequently cannot be classified as beats or misses. Gross margin and free cash flow are also designated as analytically inappropriate for this company in the supplied dataset, and the operating-margin series represents pre-tax margin rather than a conventional operating margin.

The latest usable operating evidence remains FY2025. Revenue reached $529.8 million, representing 488.9% growth from FY2024. Pre-tax margin improved to negative 115.5% from negative 436.7%, while net income was $82.5 million and EPS was $0.33. Those figures show rapid annual scaling and a narrower pre-tax deficit, but they do not establish the direction or quality of the latest quarter.

The positive FY2025 net income also should not be read as proof that the underlying operation reached economic maturity. Reported operating income was negative $611.7 million, while net income was positive $82.5 million. The supplied material does not explain that divergence, so the source and repeatability of below-operating-line income cannot be determined. Without the filing, the prudent conclusion is that annual EPS and operating economics tell different stories.

Why it matters for the thesis

Nebius is valued primarily on what its current investment program may produce rather than on demonstrated present earnings. At $228.11 per share, the supplied market capitalization is $56.5 billion. Against FY2025 EPS of $0.33, the shares trade at approximately 691.2 times trailing reported earnings. That ratio is mechanically correct but economically fragile because the supplied data do not establish how much of net income came from recurring operations.

The annual growth rate is the strongest favorable evidence. Expanding revenue by 488.9% in FY2025 suggests that the company moved rapidly from a small FY2024 base. Pre-tax margin also improved by 321.2 percentage points year over year. Even so, a negative 115.5% pre-tax margin means the company incurred more than one dollar of pre-tax loss for each dollar of revenue. Growth matters only if additional scale ultimately produces acceptable returns on the capital required.

Capital intensity is therefore the second essential issue. FY2025 operating cash flow was $384.8 million, while capital expenditure was $4.066 billion. We do not use free cash flow or ROIC as primary valuation measures because the supplied instructions identify them as not meaningful here. The individual cash and capital figures still show the magnitude of the buildout: capital expenditure was several times annual revenue and substantially exceeded internally generated operating cash.

The balance sheet offers resources but not unlimited protection. Cash was $3.678 billion, debt was $4.103 billion and reported equity was $4.594 billion. That structure increases sensitivity to deployment discipline, financing conditions and the timing of revenue conversion. A quarter showing strong contracted demand, improving pre-tax economics and controlled capital commitments could support the growth thesis. No such evidence is available in the supplied materials.

What Nebius Group N.V. is worth after the print

There is no prior SageNoodle fair value to carry forward, and the missing quarterly print does not justify building a revenue or earnings forecast. We therefore establish a provisional asset-based framework rather than imply precision that the data cannot support. This is a conservative holding valuation pending a primary quarterly filing, not a claim that book value captures the full economic potential of the company’s growth investments.

Reported FY2025 equity was $4.594 billion and shares outstanding were 247.680 million. Dividing those figures gives book value of approximately $18.55 per share. The base case applies a 1.0 times price-to-book assumption, producing fair value of $18.55. The bear case applies 0.8 times book value for capital-deployment risk, producing $14.84. The bull case applies 1.5 times book value to recognize some value above reported capital for rapid revenue growth, producing $27.83.

These multiples are explicit assumptions, not market comparables. No peer valuation, current guidance, contracted revenue, capacity data or forward earnings estimate was supplied. A higher valuation could be justified if future filings demonstrate that the FY2025 investment program supports durable revenue and sharply improving pre-tax economics. Conversely, book value itself could overstate realizable value if assets earn inadequate returns or require additional capital before becoming productive.

The provisional $18.55 base value is 91.9% below the $228.11 market price, meeting the stated definition of Overvalued. The gap does not prove that the market is wrong; it quantifies how much value depends on information absent from the current record. Until a filing supplies current demand, unit economics and capital productivity, assigning a large intangible growth premium would require unsupported assumptions.

What could prove this wrong

The bearish valuation could be too conservative if the next primary filing reveals that revenue has continued compounding rapidly from FY2025, backed by durable customer commitments and improving utilization. Because the FY2024 base was small, another period of strong absolute growth could make an asset-based framework less relevant. Evidence of recurring demand and a credible path to positive pre-tax income would justify moving toward a forward revenue or earnings valuation.

The thesis could also improve if management demonstrates that the $4.066 billion FY2025 capital program is already converting into productive capacity. The critical evidence would be rising revenue per unit of deployed capital, narrowing pre-tax losses and less dependence on external financing. None of those measures was supplied for the latest quarter, so they remain potential catalysts rather than established facts.

The more adverse outcome is that capital commitments remain high while revenue conversion slows. With debt of $4.103 billion modestly above cash of $3.678 billion, prolonged operating losses could increase financing needs or dilute shareholders. Customer concentration, competitive pricing, technological obsolescence and construction or deployment delays also cannot be evaluated because the necessary disclosures are missing.

Finally, the absence of a verifiable quarterly release is itself a limitation rather than evidence of deterioration. A complete primary filing could materially change this assessment in either direction. Until then, the disciplined response is to leave the quarter unrated, retain a high risk classification and avoid treating recent share-price movement or third-party headlines as substitutes for financial disclosure.

Financial performance

The numbers

Revenue ($B)

Margins (%)

Free cash flow ($B)

ROIC vs net debt

Source: SEC EDGAR XBRL filings, latest restated values; quarterly cash flow derived from year-to-date figures; Q4 = fiscal year minus nine months. ROIC is NOPAT (21% tax) over debt plus equity.

PeriodRevenueGross %Op %FCFEPSROIC %Net debt

From the calls

Management commentary

Valuation

Three scenarios

$15
Bear
$19
Base
$28
Bull

Dot marks the current price of $228.11.

Bear

30%

$15

FY2025 reported equity per share multiplied by an assumed 0.8x price-to-book multiple

Reported equity
$4.594 billion
Shares outstanding
247.680 million
Book value per share
$18.55
Assumed price-to-book multiple
0.8x

Capital deployment produces inadequate returns, pre-tax losses persist and reported assets warrant a discount to book value.

Base

50%

$19

FY2025 reported equity per share multiplied by an assumed 1.0x price-to-book multiple

Reported equity
$4.594 billion
Shares outstanding
247.680 million
Book value per share
$18.55
Assumed price-to-book multiple
1.0x

In the absence of current guidance or quarterly results, reported equity is used as a provisional valuation anchor without assigning an unsupported growth premium.

Bull

20%

$28

FY2025 reported equity per share multiplied by an assumed 1.5x price-to-book multiple

Reported equity
$4.594 billion
Shares outstanding
247.680 million
Book value per share
$18.55
Assumed price-to-book multiple
1.5x

Rapid revenue growth persists and the investment program earns sufficient returns to support a premium to reported book value.

Both sides

Bull vs bear

Bull case

  • FY2025 revenue grew 488.9% to $529.8 million.
  • Pre-tax margin improved to negative 115.5% from negative 436.7% in FY2024.
  • The company reported $3.678 billion of cash at FY2025.
  • FY2025 net income was positive at $82.5 million, although its relationship to recurring operations is not disclosed.

Bear case

  • The $56.5 billion market capitalization is more than twelve times reported equity.
  • FY2025 operating income remained negative at $611.7 million despite rapid revenue growth.
  • Capital expenditure of $4.066 billion substantially exceeded revenue and operating cash flow.
  • Debt of $4.103 billion exceeded cash of $3.678 billion.
  • No quarterly filing, earnings release, guidance or comparative quarterly data was supplied.

What could break

Risk matrix

RiskSeverityProbabilityRationale
Capital deployment riskHighHighFY2025 capital expenditure was $4.066 billion against $529.8 million of revenue, making valuation highly dependent on future asset productivity.
Valuation compressionHighHighThe $228.11 share price stands far above the provisional asset-based values and reflects substantial undisclosed future growth.
Financing and dilutionHighMediumDebt exceeded cash at FY2025, while the investment program substantially exceeded operating cash generation.
Disclosure gapHighMediumNo quarterly table, periodic report or earnings release was supplied, preventing verification of demand, margins, guidance and capital requirements.
Earnings-quality uncertaintyMediumMediumFY2025 net income was positive despite a large operating loss, and the supplied data do not explain the difference.

Timeline

Catalysts

  1. Not disclosedNeutral

    Publication of a primary quarterly filing

    A filing with quarterly revenue, pre-tax income, EPS, capital spending and guidance would permit a genuine earnings comparison and a forward valuation.

  2. Not disclosedBullish

    Evidence of capital productivity

    Demonstrated revenue conversion and narrowing pre-tax losses from the FY2025 investment program would support a higher valuation framework.

  3. Not disclosedBearish

    Additional financing requirement

    New debt or equity funding without corresponding operating progress would increase balance-sheet or dilution risk.

History

Thesis tracker

PeriodFair valueVerdictNote
Quarter not disclosed (FY2026)$19OvervaluedInitial provisional valuation. No quarterly filing or release was supplied, so fair value is anchored to FY2025 reported equity rather than changed by the unverified quarter.

Developments

Related news

Continue your research

More on Nebius Group N.V.

Independent checks

Company reference pages

Browse company filings and market quotes to check the latest information. These pages update over time and are separate from the documents cited in this report.